Welcome from the Chair

Dear Friends of the OSU Sociology Department:

We have had an extremely productive year and we are excited to share some of the highlights in this newsletter.  We continue to hold our ranking of 17th among best U.S. graduate programs in Sociology and this year we were ranked 10th in the specialty area of stratification!  Our undergraduate program is thriving, with majors in sociology, criminology and criminal justice studies, and public health sociology. Most importantly, our students, faculty, staff, and alumni continually impact the lives of others and the world around them. We are especially proud of department faculty who have been recognized by their peers and students for their excellence in scholarship and dedication to teaching the next generation: Rachel Dwyer (Ohio State Alumni Distinguished Teaching Award), Hollie Nyseth Brehm (International Genocide Scholars Award), Kim Lopez (Provost’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by a Lecturer) and Kristi Williams (Joan Huber Faculty Fellow) – their accomplishments contribute to the department’s unique standing in the nation and our excellence in research, scholarship and teaching.

As we strive to build connections with you, we would love to hear from you. It is always a pleasure to hear about the experiences and accomplishments of our alumni and friends.  Feel free to email us at Sociology@osu.edu or contact me personally at buchmann.4@osu.edu.  Best wishes for a wonderful summer.

Claudia Buchmann

Professor and Department Chair