Graduate Student Awards


Melissa Alcaraz and her advisor, Sarah Hayford, along with their collaborator Jennifer Glick (PSU), were awarded an NIH Minority Supplement Grant.

Laura DeMarco won an Alumni Grant for Graduate Research and Scholarship from The Ohio State University Graduate School. The AAGRS Program provides small grants to support the research and scholarship of students for their dissertations.

Scott Duxbury won the Clifford C. Clogg Outstanding Graduate Student Paper from the ASA section on Methodology. He also won paper awards from the Mathematical Sociology and Communication, Information Technology, and Media Sociology sections.

Chrisse Edmunds won a Ray Travel Award for Service and Scholarship from the Council of Graduate Students at The Ohio State University. This award give substantial weight to applicant’s service to their department, the university, and the surrounding community.

Laura Frizzell won a paper award from the Communication, Information Technologies, and Media Sociology (CITAMS) section of the American Sociological Association.

Jake Hays won the Elizabeth Menaghan Award for outstanding paper in the field of marriage and family from the Department of Sociology at The Ohio State University.

Eric LaPlant was awarded a grant from the Drug Enforcement Policy Center for his dissertation research.

Sade Lindsay was awarded the American Society of Criminology’s Ruth D. Peterson Fellowship for Racial and Ethnic Diversity as well as the 2018 Graduate Student Award for Distinguished Service from the Ohio State University College of Arts and Sciences. She was also awarded a paper award from the Communication, Information Technologies, and Media Sociology (CITAMS) section of the American Sociology Association.

Brandon Moore was awarded the Sociology of AIDS Network Scholarly Activity Award. This award aims to nurture scholarly interest in the sociology of HIV/AIDS by supporting the work of emerging scholars in the field.

Corey Pech published an essay with Eric Schoon in the Washington Post, “Why is American Democracy in Danger.”

Lora Phillips won a prestigious Presidential Fellowship from the Graduate School at The Ohio State University.

Bashir Tofangsazi was awarded a research grant by the Association for Study of Middle East and Africa as well as a seat in the summer seminar of Institute for Humane Studies.

Jasmine Whiteside was elected to serve as the student representative to the Rural Sociology Society.

Ashley Wright won a Columbus Foundation Summer Fellowship. Summer fellows are placed with Columbus nonprofits for 10-weeks over the summer for the benefit of both student and organization. Ashley was also selected to present at the Edward F. Hays Graduate Research Forum.